

Thursday, 14 September, 2023 10:45 AM

Our Ref: PG:DL

MEDIA RELEASE

RE-ELECTION OF MAYOR AND RESIGNATION OF TWO COUNCILLORS

Councillor Tim Horan will lead a smaller Coonamble Shire Council into the final year of its current term, following his re-election as Mayor and the resignation of two Councillors.

Coonamble Shire Council accepted the unrelated resignations of Councillors Al Karanouh and Karen Churchill at its meeting this week.

Cr Karanouh advised the General Manager and Council of his resignation before Wednesday afternoon's meeting, while Cr Churchill tendered her resignation at the close of General Business. Their resignations reduces the number of Councillors from nine to seven.

Council resolved not to fill the vacancies, given the proximity to the full Council election of September 2024.

Cr Tim Horan was re-elected Mayor at the same meeting, following a secret ballot for the position. Cr Horan and Cr Karen Churchill were the two nominees for the position.

With the smaller number of Councillors, following the resignations, Council decided to enhance its ability to be formally responsive and present in the community by electing two Deputy Mayors. Crs Bill Fisher and Adam Cohen, the two nominees for the position, were duly elected.

Meetings for the remaining year of the term of the current Council will be held on the second Wednesday of each month, starting at 3pm in the Council Chambers in Coonamble. The exceptions are the March 2024 meeting that will begin at 10am in Gulargambone Memorial Hall and the July 2024 meeting that will be held in the Quambone Community Hall.

Paul Gallagher

GENERAL MANAGER